Hi Everyone,

I hope you enjoyed the 4th of July holiday. My long weekend consisted of friends, pool-side lounging, cornhole, barbecue, and lots of sun. Although I did not go on any artistic adventures…unless exploring instagram apps counts as an artistic adventure. Have you ever used oldify or swap faces? Download these apps before your next party. They are hilarious…

ok, where was I? Yes, while I did not go on any artistic adventures, I was reading the novel, Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d’Art, by the pool.

Sacré Bleu is a a novel by Christopher Moore, the bestselling author of Lamb, A Dirty Job, and You Suck. In Sacré, Moore tells the story of a young artist and his “side-kick” Henri-Toulouse Lautrec, and their efforts to unravel the mystery of Vincent Van Gogh’s “suicide.” I have read about 200 pages so far and I am enjoying every minute of it. Moore has a fantastic sense of humor and I cannot help but fall in love with each of his quirky characters.

Most of the characters are well-known impressionist painters. Moore’s pages are graced by Renoir, Monet, and Pissarro. During my middle school days, I was enchanted by the impressionist painters (Let’s be real. I still love the impressionists. If you are in DC, you must visit The Phillips Collection to view Renoir’s work, Luncheon of the Boating Party. You must!) so it was clear to me that this novel would be a new favorite of mine.

And a random side note. Whenever one of the artists paints a nude portrait of a woman, the men all ask, “Why is she so skinny?” I love it. I wish men would ask that question today.

“I like a girl with a substantial bottom,’ said Renoir, drawing in the air the size bottom he preferred.”

Another aspect of the book that I appreciate is that Moore sprinkled the pages with masterpieces that accompany the storyline. For visual people like myself, this detail is essential.

All in all, this is a fun read with an absurd storyline and strangely lovable characters. I cannot wait to read more. If you happen to pick it up, please send me a note so we can compare thoughts. (But, don’t spoil the ending!)

