Hi Art Xplorers,

I am sorry that I missed last week. My class started and it coincides with the busy season for my job so my blogging schedule may zigzag for the next few months. Fortunately, one of my class assignments involves blogging. I will be sure to repost my class entries here so you can follow along as we examine the cultural frameworks of countries around the world.

This week, I have posted paintings by Kelly Reemsten. I just love these! They are full of hidden meaning, irony and sarcasm. Reemsten’s paintings feature women in vintage dresses (very “Leave-it-to-Beaver style” dresses). The dresses are the viewers only clue to the identity of the women since their faces are not shown. Each figure holds a housecleaning tool or something more masculine like a chainsaw or clippers used for yardwork. She grips the tool with supreme confidence as she embarks to trim the hedges or chop the fire wood. But is she really going to chop the wood? Reemsten leads her viewer to believe that maybe the tool will be used for other purposes. Will she stab someone with the ax or strangle them with the garden hose? The stance of the figure is always slightly threatening.

Skidmore Contemporary Gallery writes that the tools can be viewed as symbols of female empowerment or as weapons. Reemsten seems to have a very dark sense of humor and I just love it. Being a woman today is often confusing. Traditional female roles have morphed and evolved. There is no longer a specific set of expectations for us. Sometimes we believe we have to do it all; we must fulfill the old traditional female roles and the new roles of the modern woman. It can be enough to make you crazy and…maybe strangle someone.

Take a look.

kelly-reemtsen-cotton-candy

Cotton Candy


kelly-reemtsen-holding-your-attention

Holding Your Attention

kelly-reemtsen-aqua

Aqua

kelly-reemtsen-failure-to-engage

Failure to Engage

kelly-reemtsen-my-favorite-hobby

My Favorite Hobby

kelly-reemtsen-sweet-l

Spic n’ Span

kelly-reemtsen-be-mine-2-l

Be Mine, Too

kelly-reemtsen-axe-woodcut-l (1)

Splitting Hairs

