Portraits of the Homeless by Lee Jeffries

Lee Jeffries

I have been up since 5am. I was lying awake thinking about my Christmas lists, baking sweets for the office, holiday plans….. It is all so much fun but it can exhausting at the same time. Each year, I have to remind myself to keep it simple. Today, my reminder was photographs of the homeless by Lee Jeffries.

Lee Jeffries is an untrained photographer from the UK. (He is an accountant turned artist.)  A chance encounter with a young homeless girl inspired him to create this series of photographs of the homeless.

These portraits are stunning. The eyes of the subject take the viewer hostage. It feels as if each subject is looking right at you (and looking deeply). Can you feel the emotion?

This portrait series reminded me that all of the material aspects of the holidays are unimportant. These people have nothing, they are helpless. And yet, they have hope. The magic of these photographs is Jeffries’ ability to display both the desperation and the hope of his subjects.

This holiday season, I will keep these photographs in mind–remaining grateful for what I have and remembering that there is beauty in simplicity.

Learn more about the artist here: Interview with Lee Jeffries

Lee JeffriesLee Jeffries 5Lee Jeffries6 Lee Jeffries 74

Lee Jeffries 8

