Last night, I started my curatorial practice class with Jack Rasmussen at the Katzen Arts Museum. Our class was held on the first floor of the museum where a new exhibit by Anil Revri is being installed. It was thrilling to be sitting in the midst of the installation. Revri’s meditative drawings lined the right and left walls while a digital artwork flickered behind us.

The curation of Revri’s exhibit is unique because the artist asked to be an active participant in the process. Rather than solely coordinate with Jack on the selection of works to display, Revri has offered input on lighting, layout, and the presentation of the exhibit. Jack is enthusiastic about his collaboration with Revri and emphasizes that the curation process is different for each exhibit. Curators must be able to adjust to each new venture.

As students in Jack’s class (there are 18 of us), we will be planning and executing the summer art exhibition for the first floor of the museum. Our first task is to find artists to present as possibilities for the exhibit. We can find these artists by slogging through the boxes of artist proposals in Jack’s office, roaming art museums around town, or exploring the artist studios of the masters students at Katzen. The possibilities are endless. Yikes! Where do I start?!

Jack says that you have to start with yourself. (It was my favorite piece of advice from Class #1.) Determine what you respond to aside from outside influence. What really moves you? Then ask, “What is important? What needs to be done?”

I am going to stop there for now. Until next week, I hope to be curious and search for beauty that moves me.

 Work by Anil Revri

I would like to end each week with my fave quote from the class. Here is this week’s quote.

“What gets me up in the morning is thinking that I can change something.”                                       -Jack Rasmussen (1.23.12)

