A couple years ago, I watched a holiday special on the creation of the New York department store holiday windows. Department stores like Lord & Taylor, Saks, and Bergdorf Goodman, create intricate window displays in an effort to wow shoppers and increase sales. The amount of work that goes into these windows is absolutely amazing and the themes are just spectacular. I wish I could say that I was able to roam the streets of New York and view all of the 2011 window displays, but for now I will have to be satisfied with the photography and video recordings of loyal New Yorkers.

My favorite display for 2011 is Macy’s “Make-A-Wish” windows. Below I have pasted a few snapshots and a short youtube video of these magical displays. Paul Olszewski is the window director for Macy’s Herald Square and the creative genius behind this year’s visual presentation. Paul utilizes technology, animation, and art to make his visions come to life. What a cool profession?!

If you are interested in learning more about Paul, the Wall Street Journal incorporated  a small video feature of him in their 2010 article Designing Holiday Windows 2.0. Additionally, I found these great photos at My Modern Met. Check out the blog for more gorgeous images of New York’s 2011 window displays.

